Entry list World Track Championships Apeldoorn feautures many international cycling champions

APELDOORN – The international cycling union, UCI, has revealed which riders will take part in the UCI Track Cycling World Championships, presented by Tissot, which take place from 28 February to 4 March in Omnisport, Apeldoorn. The entry list features many riders who were successful at the Rio Olympics and/or the previous Track Worlds in Hong Kong.

Great Britain has the gold and silver Olympic sprint medal winners Jason Kenny and Callum Skinner on the team. Denis Dimitriev who took home the bronze medal for Russia in Rio will also ride in Apeldoorn. Olympic keirin champion Kenny will meet Matthijs Büchli (silver) and Malaysia’s Azizulhnasni Awang (bronze) on the boards of Omnisport. British cycling legend Ed Clancy was one of the many successful riders in the endurance team events in Rio.

Olympic champions Kristina Vogel (sprint) from Germany, Dutch rider Elis Ligtlee (keirin) and Laura Kenny-Trott (omnium) from Great Britain are on the start list. Kenny-Trott will meet bronze omnium winner Jolien D’Hoore again. Belgium also brings madison top favorites Kenny De Ketele and Moreno De Pauw hot off a very successful six-days season, including the Rotterdam Six, to the Netherlands.

The Italian team features reigning scratch world champion Rachele Barbieri. Poland’s Adrien Teklinski will be in Apeldoorn to defend his scratch world title. Awang and Dimitriev were already mentioned on the Olympic stage but come to Apeldoorn to defend their respective keirin and sprint titles.

Other reigning champions eager to don the rainbow stripes for another year are Katie Archibald (omnium), Elinor Barker (points race) Jolien D’hoore/Lotte Kopecky (madison), Cameron Meyer (points race), Francois Pervis (kilo) and Morgan Kneisky/Benjamin Thomas (madison).

It is pretty clear. If you want to see the international stars of track cycling on the boards, there is only one option and that is to be in Apeldoorn from the 28th of February.

View the complete list of participants here
– Man
– Woman